YOUR SOURCE FOR: Over 280 Australian Blues CD titles - Over 200 Australian Blues artists' biographies.

Sweet Baby James & Rob Eyers (SA)

Sweet Baby James & Rob Eyers (SA)

click to enlarge

Something triggered in Sweet Baby James when he heard Eric Clapton's song 'Cocaine' at age 15. He was playing a sound I had never heard before and it had me transfixed. I later discovered it was called the Blues, he says.

James' debut album 'Rhythm n Blues' is a cornucopia of assorted blues styles played with an electric energy. There's delicate fingerpicking, growling slide guitar and sparse country blues. Their raw sound evokes wild nights at the traditional juke joints of America's south.

The album features renditions of Muddy Waters 'Cant Be Satisfied', John Lee Hookers 'Boogie Chillun', Blind Willie Johnsons 'Nobodys Fault But Mine' and lesser known numbers, though just as noteworthy. James original songs reveal his songwriting prowess.

The Adelaide-based blues guitarist has shared the stage with blues-rocker Jeff Healy and Canadian blues queen Sue Foley. Rob Eyres, originally from London and now living in Adelaide, completes the duo on percussion.

Audiences respond to us because its clear were doing what we naturally do best: playing the blues with obsession, says James.

CDs include:
Double Voodoo Blues (2010)
Rhythm 'n' Blues (2005)
More of This (1999) - Sweet Baby James Trio

Click Here to view blues CDs & DVDs currently available from the Australian Blues Music Festival from this website or in-store at the Goulburn Visitor Information Centre. New titles arriving all the time.

Sweet Baby James and Rob Eyers were a sensation at the Australian Blues Music Festival in 2006. They returned for an encore performance in 2007 and graced our stages again in 2008. Rob Eyers also presented a percussion workshop at the 2008 Festival.

James Meston (aka Sweet Baby James) was the official Ambassador for the 2007 Festival.

Visit Sweet Baby James' and Rob Eyers' website at: or


Register now to subscribe to the Festival's free newsletter.


Winners were announced on Saturday 9th...