YOUR SOURCE FOR: Over 280 Australian Blues CD titles - Over 200 Australian Blues artists' biographies.

The Hellboppers (NSW)

The Hellboppers (NSW)

click to enlarge

The love of the blues brings together three old friends to capture the warmth of those live, analogue sounds that inspire summer lounge-room jam sessions... the result is The Hellboppers.

The Hellboppers are John Russell on lead and slide guitar, Ian Dittman on lead vocals, resonator guitars and mandolin, and Steve Trew is purveyor of harmonicas.

The Hellboppers beginnings were with a Sydney blues and swing band, The Bellhops, playing to every kind of audience from acoustic dinner functions to smokey pubs.

They recorded an album of originals and renditions of the country blues that influenced our new project and draws the best from the trio. This album 'Hellectricity?' features: 'Can't Be Satisfied' (Muddy Waters), 'Walkin' Blues' (Robert Johnson) and 'Hey Hey' (Bill Broonzy) and was nominated for 'New Talent of the Year' as well as 'Duo or Group of the Year' at the 2007 Australian Blues Music Awards.

The combo came about when we were asked by a particular venue, to add a rhythm section to the trio. It gave us the opportunity to include some electric material, while retaining the trio's acoustic vibe. In other words, it really cooked.

The combo line-up is:
John Russell: acoustic, lead, slide, Dobro guitars
Steve Trew: vocals, multiple harmonicas
Ian Dittman: vocals, acoustic, resonator guitar, mandolin
Mark Roulston: bass, vocals
Steve 'Wrongway' Lovarini: drums, percussion

CDs include:
Hellectricity? (2005)

Click Here to view blues CDs & DVDs currently available from the Australian Blues Music Festival from this website or in-store at the Goulburn Visitor Information Centre. More titles available all the time.

The Hellboppers Combo featured at the 2008 Australian Blues Music Festival.

Visit The Hellbopers' website at:


Register now to subscribe to the Festival's free newsletter.


Winners were announced on Saturday 9th...